Conference Overview

On May 23 - 24, 2019, the 16th Annual Conference on Frontiers in Applied and Computational Mathematics (FACM'19) will be held at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in Newark, New Jersey. The conference will be held jointly with 11th Northeastern Complex Fluids & Soft Matter workshop that will take place on May 24 as an integral part of FACM '19. Particular focus of FACM '19 will be on Mathematical and application challenges in problems involving particles in fluids.

Application for Contributed Presentations*

*Note that Contributed Presentations will take place on Friday, May 24.

The application for contributed presentations by postdoctoral fellows and students is linked below and due by May 1, 2019. Applications by members of underrepresented groups, minorities and women are particularly encouraged. Limited funds, typically on the level of covering the cost of registration and local accommodation may be available. All accepted applications will be considered for travel support automatically and no separate application is needed. Notification of acceptance and travel support, if granted, will be sent out by May 8, 2019 (date subject to change).

FACM 2019 & NCS11: Application for Contributed Presentations


The online registration form for confirmed speakers, poster presenters, and NJIT faculty and students is given in the registration link below. Please register by April 24, 2019.

Click Here to Register for FACM 2018 & NCS11

Postdoctoral fellows and students wishing to contribute an oral presentation must click here to submit the Application for Contributed Presentations only. You will be asked to register at a later date.

Plenary Speakers

Speaker Affiliation
Igor Aronson Pennsylvania State University
John Brady California Institute of Technology
Michael Shearer North Carolina State University
Kathleen Stebe University of Pennsylvania

Invited Speakers (Partial List)

Speaker Affiliation
Arezoo Ardekani Purdue University
Jasna Brujic New York University
Abram Clark Naval Postgraduate School
Karin Dahmen University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign
Joern Dunkel Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sujit Datta Princeton University
Miranda Holmes-Cerfon New York University
Ken Kamrin Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Aditya Khair Carnegie Mellon University
Howoon Lee Rutgers University 
Jeffrey Morris The City College of New York
Corey O’Hern Yale University
Leif Ristroph New York University
Mark Shattuck The City College of New York
Saverio Spagnolie University of Wisconsin–Madison
Wan Yan Flatiron Institute
Alexandra Zidovska New York University

Organizing Committee

Denis Blackmore Richard Moore
Michael Booty Cyrill Muratov
Shawn Chester Anand Oza
Linda Cummings Anthony Rosato
Lou Kondic (Chair) Michael Siegel
Jonathan Luke Pushpendra Singh
Enkeleida Lushi Yuan-Nan Young

Updated: February 19, 2019