New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ


On May 18-20, 2012, the ninth Annual Conference on Frontiers in Applied and Computational Mathematics (FACM '12) will be held at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in Newark, New Jersey. This conference is the ninth in a series of annual conferences that have been organized by the Department of Mathematical Sciences and the Center for Applied Mathematics and Statistics at NJIT. The conference will focus on Wave Propagation and Electromagnetics, Mathematical Biology, Fluid Dynamics, and Applied Statistics.  There will be plenary sessions, parallel invited minisymposia, and poster sessions. More details will be available online shortly.

The FACM meeting has been held annually since 2004. Several of our first eight conferences were major applied and computational mathematics conferences, and the responses to them were quite enthusiastic (see links below for past conferences). FACM 2006 and 2009 were more focused meetings on mathematical Fluid Dynamics and Mathematical Biology, respectively.


Contributed Papers and Travel Awards

Applications are solicited for contributed talks from postdoctoral fellows and graduate students. Selected applicants will receive full travel expense reimbursement. Applicants should email a title and short abstract (ASCII format only) and CV (pdf format only)  to by April 2, 2012. Other contributed papers for the Conference will be presented as posters. Funds are available for partial travel expense reimbursement for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty poster presenters. The deadline for all applications and submission of titles and short abstracts is April 2, 2012. Underrepresented groups, minorities, and women are encouraged to apply for travel support.

Contact:  Susan Sutton, Department of Mathematical Sciences, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ 07102, USA; email:; tel.: 973-596-3235; fax: 973-596-6467.


Organizing committee

Daljit S. Ahluwalia and Jonathan Luke (Co-Chairs), Amit Bose, Sunil Dhar, Lou Kondic, Peter Petropoulos and Michael Siegel.


See past program details at: