New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ



On June 9-11, 2011, the Eighth Annual Conference on Frontiers in Applied and Computational Mathematics (FACM '11) will be held at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in Newark, New Jersey. This conference is the eighth in a series of annual conferences that have been organized by the Department of Mathematical Sciences and the Center for Applied Mathematics and Statistics at NJIT. The conference will focus on Wave Propagation with applications to Electromagnetics, Mathematical Biology, Fluid Dynamics, and Acoustics.  There will be plenary sessions, parallel invited minisymposia, and poster sessions. For a list of Plenary and Invited Speakers, click here. Full program will be available online shortly.

The FACM meeting has been held annually since 2004. Several of our first seven conferences were major applied and computational mathematics conferences, and the responses to them were quite enthusiastic (see links below for past conferences). FACM 2006 and 2009 were more focused meetings on mathematical Fluid Dynamics and Mathematical Biology, respectively.


Contributed Papers and Travel Awards

Applications are solicited for contributed talks from postdoctoral fellows and graduate students. Selected applicants will receive full travel expense reimbursement. Applicants should email a title and short abstract (ASCII format only) and CV (pdf format only)  to by April 29, 2011.  Applications will be processed immediately and selection decisions will be announced by May 13, 2011. Other contributed papers for the Conference will be presented as posters. Funds are available for partial travel expense reimbursement for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty poster presenters. Travel support is subject to pending grant proposal to NSF.  The deadline for all applications and submission of titles and short abstracts is April 29, 2011. Underrepresented groups, minorities, and women are encouraged to apply for travel support.

Contact:  Susan Sutton, Department of Mathematical Sciences, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ 07102, USA; email:; tel.: 973-596-3235; fax: 973-596-6467.


Organizing committee

Daljit S. Ahluwalia (Chair), Yassine Boubendir, Margaret Cheney, Shidong Jiang, Eliza Michalopoulou, Richard Moore, Horacio Rotstein, and Michael Siegel.


TRAVEL AWARD committee

John Bechtold, Linda Cummings, and Robert Miura.


See past program details at: