Department of Mathematical Sciences 


Celebration in Honor of the 75th Birthday of

Daljit S. Ahluwalia

Monday, May 19, 2008
New Jersey Institute of Technology

Sponsored by the Department of Mathematical Sciences and the College of Science and Liberal Arts at New Jersey Institute of Technology.

Professor Daljit S. Ahluwalia, Chair of the Department of Mathematical Sciences and Director of the Center for Applied Mathematics and Statistics, has been an exceptional presence at the university, helping to drive NJIT’s growth as a major research institution. In recognition of his impact on mathematical sciences and his 22 years of service to NJIT, his family is pleased to announce the establishment of the D. S. Ahluwalia Doctoral Fellowship Endowment in Mathematical Sciences.  Among Dr. Ahluwalia's achievements during his service to NJIT:

  • Helped increase departmental research funding from nearly nothing to over $2 million per year in federal funding.

  • Led the department’s transition from a primarily teaching and service department to a top ten research department (as reported in the Chronicle of Higher Education, 11/16/07).

  • Instituted new degrees: BS in Applied Mathematics, MS in Applied Statistics, PhD in Mathematical Sciences, and (pending final approval) MS in Biostatistics and BS in Computational Sciences.

  • Recruited outstanding junior faculty who are now leaders in their field. Recruited senior faculty with established research to enhance the visibility of the department.

  • Served as Principal Investigator on over a half dozen equipment grants from the National Science Foundation, including a grant which funded the acquisition of one of the largest computer clusters contained within a mathematics department in the U.S.

  • Most importantly, Dr. Ahluwalia established a collegial and scholarly atmosphere for study and research that encourages excellence.


Click here for photos of the Celebration Dinner held on May 19, 2008


Celebration Organizing Committee:

Manish Bhattacharjee, Denis Blackmore, Amitabha Bose, Fadi P. Deek,

Gregory A. Kriegsmann, Zoi-Heleni Michalopoulou, Robert M. Miura,

Farzan Nadim, Demetrius Papageorgiou, and Michael Siegel. ....