Frontiers in Applied and Computational MathematicsMathematical Fluid Dynamics

New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ

May 15-16, 2006


    On May 15-16, 2006, the Third Conference on Frontiers in Applied and Computational Mathematics (FACM '06) will be held at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) in Newark, New Jersey.  This conference is hosted by the Department of Mathematical Sciences and the Center for Applied Mathematics and Statistics.  This conference is the third in a series of annual conferences that are being supported by a University Strategic Initiative and will be focused on Mathematical Fluid Dynamics. 

   Our first two conferences were major applied and computational mathematics conferences and were held in May 2004 (see for the 2004 program) and held in May 2005 ( for the 2005 program).

    The Second Conference on Frontiers in Applied and Computational Mathematics (FACM '05) was held in May 2005 and was a great success.   More than 260 mathematical researchers presented some of the latest developments in applied mathematics.  Significant contributions were presented in the areas of mathematical biology, mathematical fluid dynamics, applied probability and statistics, computational methods for partial differential equations, nonlinear optics, and wave propagation.  The plenary talks and the invited minisymposium talks, which were presented by some of the leading experts in their fields, contributed greatly to the lively and productive research atmosphere at the conference.  In addition, there were over 130 poster presentations that led to one-on-one interactions among the participants.  A significant number of graduate students participated in the conference and widened their research horizons by interacting with leading experts in their fields of interest.

    We are looking forward to another inspiring and productive research conference at NJIT.

Organizing Committee

Robert M. Miura (Chair), Daljit S. Ahluwalia, John Bechtold, Michael Booty, Bruce Bukiet, Wooyoung Choi, Lou Kondic, Jonathan Luke,  Demetrius Papageorgiou, Michael Siegel, and Yuan-Nan Young.