Department of Mathematical Sciences
Computational Science Training for Students in the Mathematical Sciences (CSUMS)
Sponsored by the National Science Foundation


Main Page

Application form

NSF link

NJIT news release on CSUMS honors for NJIT undergraduate students

New NJIT Bachelor of Science in Computational Science

New NJIT Minor in Computational Mathematics



Application form

You must be a Mathematical Sciences major (or a double major in mathematical sciences and another field) and a US citizen or permanent resident to participate in CSUMS. 

The scope of the NJIT CSUMS program is to provide students with expertise in mathematical modeling and scientific computation through research and coursework.  The 2007 CSUMS cohort consists of eight Mathematical Sciences students conducting research under the guidance of Professors Goodman, Horntrop, Michalopoulou, and Siegel. 

Principal investigator: Professor Eliza (Z.-H.)  Michalopoulou (; Phone: 973-596-8395)

Co-Principal investigators: Professors Roy Goodman, David Horntrop, Michael Siegel

CSUMS Investigators and Associates:  Professor Jonathan Luke, Professor Richard Moore, Dr. William Morokoff, Professor Gareth Russell, Professor Yuan-Nan Young

CSUMS Research Projects 2007:

CSUMS Student Participants 2007:

Mariana Cassimiro, Fatima Elgammal, Brian Emmanuel, Michael Lam, Nan Maung, Matthew Peragine, Chris Peterson, Alex Virodov


The 2007 CSUMS cohort.

Elgammal and Peragine: First prize winners among presenting four year colleges at the Garden State Conference on

Undergraduate Research, in Mathematics William Paterson University, April 2008.


CSUMS Research Projects 2008:

CSUMS Research Participants 2008:

Paul Accisano, Matthew Albano, Michael Bellanich, Tao Lin, Dawid Midura, Tamara Vivens

At the SIAM Conference in Computational Science and Engineering, March 2009.


CSUMS Research Projects 2009:


  • Adaptive B-splines for computing parametric curves and invariant manifolds
  • Variance reduction techniques for stochastic differential equations
  • Dynamics of elastic filaments in Stokes flow


CSUMS Research Participants 2009:

Casayndra Basarab, Megha Billimoria, Stevel Elliott, Karim Figueroa, Priyanka Shah, Sandeep Singh

Click Here for the 2009 CSUMS seminars.  Attendance is mandatory for the 2009 cohort.  All other students and faculty are invited to attend.  For information on the CSUMS seminar series please e-mail or